Sign up for Your      Free Newsletter!       CLICK HERE
Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Facebook Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Google+ Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Pinterest Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Twitter Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Email

Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?

By: Peter on February 23, 2011 (updated March 17, 2011).

An interesting article in the Ottawa Citizen offers some sanity in the face of the current gluten-free diet fad.  The author, Brian Dunning, helps to sort out the difference between the real concerns of those with celiac disease from the myths that surround this field.  March 17, 2011 update…. However, it is important to acknowledge to growing body of scientific evidence for a form of Gluten Sensitivity which is quite distinct from celiac disease; while the exact incidence of this condition is unknown, it appears to be much more common than celiac disease itself. Gluten Sensitivity can be defined as a set of patients who respond positively to the withdrawal of gluten from the diet, but lack a diagnosis of celiac disease, wheat allergy or other clinically overlapping diseases (see soure reference below). These recent data have shown that the cellular mechanism of Gluten Sensitivity is quite distinct from celiac disease, which raises the possibility that completely new therapies may developed.

Sources:

Study Sheds Light On Gluten Sensitivity - WSJ.com

Divergence of gut permeability and mucosal immune gene expression in two gluten-associated conditions: celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.

Anna Sapone (annasapone@yahoo.it)
Karen M Lammers (klammers@mbrc.umaryland.edu)
Vincenzo Casolaro (casolaro@jhmi.edu)
Marcella Cammarota (marcella.cammarota@unina2.it)
Maria T Giuliano (mariateresa.giuliano@unina2.it)
Mario De Rosa (mario.derosa@unina2.it)
Rosita Stefanile (rstefanile@isa.cnr.it)
Giuseppe Mazzarella (gmazzarella@isa.cnr.it)
Carlo Tolone (carlo.tolone@unina2.it)
Maria I Russo (mariaitria.russo@unina2.it)
Pasquale Esposito (pasquale.esposito@unina2.it)
Franca Ferraraccio (franca.ferraraccio@unina2.it)
Maria Carteni (maria.carteni@unina2.it)
Gabriele Riegler (gabriele.riegler@unina2.it)
Laura de Magistris (laura.demagistris@unina2.it)
Alessio Fasano (afasano@mbrc.umaryland.edu)

BMC Medicine 2011, 9:23 doi:10.1186/1741-7015-9-23

Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Facebook Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Google+ Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Pinterest Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Twitter Share 'Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?' on Email

3 comments to Is Gluten Something That Most People Should Really Avoid?

  • Jan Rossi

    I just read that article from the Montreal Gazette and although the writer seems to have a bit of “disdain” for us “pansies” that can’t handle gluten - if you read through it you realize he has forgotten one truly bad problem with the gluten situation in this country.

    Stone-ground wheat versus regular wheat.

    In my particular problem I cannot be anywhere near wheat that has been pulverized to a powder form. If the grain is pure and whole, my body is somewhat better at excepting it (I am not Celiac - but I have “issues” with gluten).

    I was told by a scientist at one time that when the wheat is ground it loses a certain attribute that makes it easier to digest in our bodies. Gosh does that make sense!

    I wish I could find an article about this…..if you do - maybe this would be a good addition to the site.

    Thanks for posting this! :-)

  • Yvonne

    I suggest you read the book, Wheat Belly by William Davis, you might find it very helpful. Every thing you always wanted too know about wheat.

    • Peter

      Thanks, Yvonne.
      I go into much more detail about celiac disease versus (non-celiac) gluten sensitivity in a later blog:

      A Consensus on Diagnosis of Gluten Sensitivity? Not so Fast

      I’m afraid I differ in your opinion of this book. I have only read excerpts of the book, but from what I have seen, I must say that I disagree strongly with most of what the author says. I find many of his claims illogical, and not supported by the relevant scientific literature. This thread may not be the best place to go into detail, but for an objective review of this book you may want to read:

      http://www.aaccnet.org/publications/plexus/cfw/pastissues/2012/Pages/CFW-57-4-0177.aspx

Leave a Comment