Sign up for Your      Free Newsletter!       CLICK HERE
Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Facebook Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Google+ Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Pinterest Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Twitter Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Email

Gluten-Free Tartar Sauce Recipe

By: Gillian on October 26, 2011

Tartar sauce is a nice accompaniment to any kind of grilled fish. If you cannot find ready-made, gluten-free, Tartar sauce in your local food store or you only use it occasionally, this is a relatively quick and simple recipe.

2 cups Hellman’s or Best Foods’ mayonnaise (gluten-free)
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
1/4 cup diced dill pickle
1/4 cup diced capers
2 Tbs fresh parsley, finely chopped
1 Tbs fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp sugar

Gluten-Free Tartar Sauce RecipeMix all the ingredients together and refrigerate for 1 hour before using. The sauce can be used for up to 3 days if stored, covered, in the refrigerator.

Makes 3 cups

Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Facebook Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Google+ Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Pinterest Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Twitter Share 'Tartar Sauce' on Email

3 comments to Tartar Sauce

  • [...] cod or other fish. I suggest serving these with cooked peas and a tangy gluten-free sauce, e.g. tartar or aioli, as [...]

  • nate

    hellman’s states it is Gluten Free.
    It also has non-distilled vinegar listed as an ingredient which has gluten in it. if you are highly sensitive this would make you very very sick.

    • Gillian

      Nate, thanks for your comment. Hellman’s mayonnaise labeled gluten-free lists “vinegar” as one of the ingredients. The FDA defines the term “vinegar” to be the same as “cider vinegar” or “apple vinegar” (which are gluten-free). More detail can be found here. If you do have any information about someone who has a negative reaction to this product, please let us know.
      Of course, if you still have concerns, one could make gluten-free mayonnaise from scratch and still use the recipe above.

Leave a Comment